Call to Request a Confidential Consultation

What if the Other Driver Doesn't Have Insurance?

According to the Insurance Research Council, nearly 20% of all drivers in California have failed to purchase automobile insurance. This means that you have a 20% chance of being involved in a car accident with someone who does not have insurance. Although all drivers are required by law to carry the bare minimum amount of auto insurance – which only covers up to $30,000 total per accident – there are still a significant number of motorists who operate their vehicles illegally. What does this mean for you? If you are hit by an uninsured motorist, it may be up to you pursue financial compensation from your own insurance company – as long as you have acquired uninsured motorist coverage (UM).

How Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) Works in California

If you have purchased uninsured motorist coverage (UM), this means that you would be able to file a claim with your own insurance company after being involved in an accident with an uninsured driver – as long as you can prove that the accident was not your fault. This coverage can also be extended to accidents where you were hit by an uninsured motorist as a pedestrian, or accidents where the other driver flees the scene. Furthermore, UM coverage may cover any passengers that were riding in your vehicle at the time of the accident. Through this type of claim, you can seek compensation for:

  • Medical expenses
  • Pain and suffering
  • Loss of earnings

One of the only things that uninsured motorist policies in California do not cover is property damage. Even so, it can still alleviate the financial burden of costly medical expenses and forfeited income after a serious auto accident. For this reason, it may be in your best interest to acquire UM coverage if you have yet to do so. In the event that you are hit by an uninsured motorist or involved in a hit and run accident without this type of coverage, you may be left to foot the bill for all of your accident-related expenses. If the accident was not your fault, this responsibility shouldn't have to fall on your shoulders.

The Pasadena personal injury lawyer at {Site:BusinessName} can explain your options.
Contact our office today to learn more!

Will I need to hire an attorney before filing my claim?

Depending on the circumstances of your accident, you may be able to secure the financial compensation that you deserve without having to involve a lawyer. However, it is important to understand that the insurance company does not have your best interests in mind. Their only goal is to settle your claim as quickly as possible, for as little money as possible. This means that you might have a difficult time securing a settlement that adequately reflects the full extent of your damages.

If you are having trouble negotiating a fair settlement with the insurance company, it is highly recommended that you seek help from a Pasadena personal injury attorney at our firm. Statistics have shown that accident victims are typically able to recover three times as much money when they hire legal representation. Not to mention, {Site:BusinessName} has more than 30 years of legal experience that we can put to work for you, so you can trust that we know what it takes to win a difficult case.

Hit by an uninsured driver? You don't have to fight the insurance company alone! Get the help that you will need by setting up a free initial consultation with the legal team at our firm.


Benefits of Retaining Our Firm:

  • Decades of winning legal experience
  • Expert counsel from a Board Certified Family Law Specialist
  • A rating of 10 "Top Lawyer" on Avvo
  • Hands-on care from the outset of every case
More Reasons to Choose Us